iPod Touch: The Best All-In-One Available

ipod-touch1

Passionate fanboys and bitter cynics will never end the fight over Apple and its cavalcade of shiny white products.  I consider myself an Apple realist: I enjoy using Mac OSX, especially the not having to deal with spam/viruses part, and I find their sense of design impeccable, if not always the most utilitarian.  I also know what Apple doesn’t do: it isn’t as open/customizable with its products, their computers still aren’t a good gaming platform (which is why I use bootcamp), their stuff is usually more expensive, and their fans (and even employees) can be real snobs.  I recommend Apple computers for the most part to those who ask, but I understand that Apple computers aren’t for everyone, that some peoples needs don’t justify the extra expense, and that their are plenty of good Windows computers out their.

I make one exception.

The iPod Touch is a truly glorious piece of consumer tech.  Intuitive web surfing,  extensive music, video, and picture capabilities, strong podcast support (a huge plus for me), and now a huge selection of free and cheap games.  I love my iPod Touch; it’s that futuristic little gadget I always dreamed about as a little kid, playing music, games, videos, and with a link to all sorts of information.  If you live in an area with a lot of wi-fi, use an mp3 player, and like playing portable games their is simply no equivalent.  The iPhone has exorbitant data fees, but I suppose if you are willing to pay them then it’s a fantastic device as well.

rolando_screen_b

With the release of games like Rolando (which really is as good as people are saying) and Hero of Sparta the device is well on its way to being a real competitor in the gaming space.  I have a first generation 16GB model, and with my music library slowly increasing to 20GB, plus podcasts, games, photos, and videos, I can only complain that my own model is two small.  Even so, I haven’t regretted trading out my iPod 5G and I don’t think it’s likely I ever will; the iPod Touch for me is exactly what I need.

Leave a Reply

