Nigerian Scammers and Me

The video you see above is a pair of Nigerian scammers who themselves got conned by a “Scambaiter” into putting on a rendition of Monty Python’s famous Dead Parrot sketch.  While their attempt isn’t half bad, the important thing is that this waste a lot of these two scammers time, time that would likely have been spent scamming other people.  The reason I bring this up is becuase I have become the target of Nigerian scammers twice now, but in an incredibly annoying way.  Somehow, they have managed to get a hold of credible Ebay accounts and then win my auctions.  Ebay is nice enough to refund all my fees, but now I must wait another week for my auction to end, not to mention re-post the auction all over again.  That is why I have decided I’m going to waste this second scammers time as much as possible.

First, a little background of the first scammer attempt.  The first scammer attempted to buy my mothers iPod Touch. She got one with the school rebate program last summer and I decided to sell it on Ebay for her.  As you can probably guess, the scammer won the auction (at about 50$ higher than expected too) and proceeded to send me fake Paypal emails asking for a tracking number for the shipped product.  Of course, these Paypal emails noted that I would not see the money or any information regarding the transaction in my account until I provided a tracking number.  In other words, I get the money after the product is essentially his.

picture-12

I sent these and a few other “official” (read: faked) Ebay emails to the special Spam sections of their respective websites, and by the end of the day they were all confirmed as fakes.  Here’s the very cordial Mr.Michael’s story:

I am Mr Micheal. from USA,I am interested and buying for my grandson who is on vacation with his mum who works for the US embassy abroad (Africa) as a birthday present,I will be paying via PayPal.Kindly reply me with your full name and your paypal email address of where you want the money to be credited to ,please include your email address in your reply for effective contact and/or send me a payment request from paypal.
Thanks and hope to read back from you soonest.

It didn’t take long for Mr.Michael to suspect something, so he sent me a message from the one and only Meg Whitman, CEO of Ebay!

picture-3

All these spam emails were getting on my nerves, so I decided to send Mr.Michael a message regarding his trickery.  Unfortunately Ebay no longer has the message, but it effectively said “I know what you’re up to and I’m not that stupid”.  Not really all the searing of a rebuttal to someone attempting to steal 250$ from me.  Here’s what Mr.Michael had to say in response:

Dan raxdakkar

I really don’t understand what you are talking about. You need to understand that I have sent the money out to your account as you requested and now you are telling me rubbish! I risked everything to send the money to you in the first place but now you are making me to feel cheated and stupid about what happened now.

I have emailed PayPal and what they told me was that they are unable to credit the money to your account due to the fact that they needed some shipment verification informations from you which you were unable to provide. They emailed me that they sent you a notification that you needed to get back to them with a scanned copy of the shipment details for them to verify that you really have the unit for sale and also for me to be protected in case you want to defraud me. Now tell me why are you delaying the shipment if really you don’t want to defraud me…I am beginning to get worried because I haven’t heard anything from you for a while and, two, because of the risks attached to the PayPal payment I sent to you. You yourself clearly knows that the amount has been deducted from my account and can never be refunded back. I need to hear from you Please…this is really getting crazier and crazier to me…what is delaying you all this while?

so the next thing i expected you to do is to make the shipment, and since the payment was approved, i did not hear from you to know what is going on, so kindly get back to me or Paypal with the tracking number of the package so that they can start verification on your money

If I don’t hear from you in a couple of hours, I will contact eBay and PayPal and report what is going on to them because I have my integrity to protect.

Micheal

Now fast forward to today.  I’m attempting to sell an old Dell laptop I got from my grandmother.  And another Nigerian scammer, from the same zip code and city no less, is attempting to steal my laptop.

picture-13

picture-31

This time, I hope to really waste this guys time.  Any time he is spending on me is time he can’t spend scamming others.  If you have any ideas as to how to waste this guys time, please comment here!

3 Responses to Nigerian Scammers and Me

  1. Yaniv says:

    Send wiener pictures… I would

  2. spud says:

    Clayton,

    You’ve got a good head on your shoulders .. thanks for taking some of this criminal’s time away from him by corresponding with him. I might encourage you to scambait safely. A few, a *few* of these criminals have contacts in the States, so if these scammers have your real name and address, the safe play is to drop them. You can pick them up with an anonymous email addy from gmail and toy with them in relative safety. I say relative, because I’ve been scambaiting for about three years now and I always work behind a proxy when dealing with criminals.

    I don’t want to scare you … just keep you safe. Let me know if you make a hobby of it and want a bit ‘o’ advice.

    • raxdakkar says:

      Thanks for the heads up. I probably didn’t lead this scammer along as long as I could have, but it was the first time I was ever in contact with one of them so I wasn’t completely sure what to do.

      I’ll keep you tips in mind if I ever encoutner one on Ebay again.

Leave a Reply

