Super Quick Game Impressions

I played quite a few games over winter break to catch up on all the ones I missed while in New York. I’ve decided to give some real quick one to two sentence impressions in bullet point format (that makes it Professional®).

  • Super Meat Boy – A distillation of everything good about 2D platformers: super precise, absurdly difficult at times, and incredibly addictive.
  • Fable 3 – This was fun, but overall a big step backwards after Fable 2.  And the ending is astonishingly anti-climactic.
  • Vanquish – A very fun, frenetic shooter with hilarious how-Japanese-writers-think-Americans-talk-but-really-only-know-how-Americans-talk-from-action-movies.  To wit:  ‘Maybe you’re just getting better at looking like an ass hole!’
  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood – I didn’t realize how much I wanted another Assassin’s Creed game until I played this phenomenal improvement on just about everything from AC2.  And I completely regret having rented it because I really want to play some more of the frenetic and extremely tense multiplayer.
  • Enslaved: Odessy to the West – Combine some of the best acting in terms of delivery/writing/facial expressions with pretty mediocre game play and gorgeous art design and the end result is… eh… above average.
  • H.A.W.X. 2 – I actually sort of liked the arcadey original (an air-combat game where you can drift? why not!), but this sequel was a soulless, hackneyed downgrade with an awful My First International Military Thriller type story.
  • The Polynomial – This one just gave me motion sickness.
  • Robot Unicorn Attack – Just writing out the game’s title made me laugh and want to play it again. ALWAYS.
  • Amnesia: The Dark Descent – The scariest game product of any media I’ve ever consumed.  At one point it gave me a physical reaction enough to make me slam my hands down on the keyboard.
  • Pac Man Championship Edition DX – Eat ghost trains. ALWAYS.
  • Epic Dungeon – Bought this Indie Arcade game for 80 Microsoft space bucks (i.e. $1) and I’ve ended up playing it more than some XBLA games I paid $10 for.  Great to play while listening to a podcast or your own playlist.
Leave a Reply

